• No products in the cart.

About Ayurveda

Providing authentic Ayurvedic online education

What is Ayurveda?

Ayurveda is a science passed on by the great sages of India for the understanding and evolution of humankind, through the healing of the body, mind, and cosmic consciousness within the cosmic play of nature and the universe. It is an evolving science. As humanity changes and transforms, so does Ayurveda, adapting to and creating more conscious awareness to better assist our evolution. Considered to be the oldest system of healing, most other ancient systems have their roots embedded within Ayurveda. It is not just a healing science, but a science rooted in the philosophy of creation, existence, spiritual understanding, and in our relation with the elemental balance of the universe.

This wisdom purported by Ayurveda encompasses both the preventative and curative aspect of healthy living, embodied with the deeper realization of inner harmony in the physical, mental, and cosmic levels of our existence. It addresses our total being, relating to the social lifestyle and environment, as well as the dietary habits of an individual in accordance to nature and its elemental factors.

The word Ayurveda, is made up of two words: “Ayuh" which means Life and the word "Veda" which means "Knowledge.” Thus the word Ayurveda is referred as the “Science or Knowledge of Life.”

Our most humble and respected definition is the “Divine Elixir,” because Ayurveda is like the divine parents of existence, providing us the tools, discipline, wisdom, experience and all the benefits and knowledge needed to achieve total and harmonious balance in our journey in life, and path to liberation.

Tracing the roots of Ayurveda through the study of the Vedas, or ancient Indian scriptures, goes back to at least 10,000 years. The Vedas are divided in four main categories and four secondary categories. The main categories are much more researched and more popular. Because of the resurgence of Ayurveda as a medicinal science in today’s society, more research into these sacred and scientific scriptures is being conducted. The four main texts or Vedas are: Rig-Veda, Yajurveda, Atharvaveda and Samaveda, whilst the other four secondary Vedas, known as the Upa-Vedas, are branches of the four main Vedas.



Tel: 1 (844) MAHIMA1

Email: info@mahimainstitute.com

10651 SW 88th St. Suite 201
Miami, Florida 33176